TLC Pen Factor Archive

TLC Pen Factor Competition 2015

TLC Pen Factor Writing Competition with Digital Summer Book Party
Details in this article about the 2015 TLC Pen Factor Competition.

TLC Pen Factor Competition 2014

Supported by

Kobo Writing Life

“Imagine pitching your work to a panel of some of our most respected agents and publishers! I survived however, and the happy result of the TLC’s Pen Factor is I’m now signed up with one of those agents. The TLC Literary Conference’s packed programme benefits both novice and more experienced writers. It’s a great experience for all in the publishing industry.”

Fawzia Kane, TLC Pen Factor runner-up 2012, Longlisted for the 2012 OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature with her collection Tantie Diablesse

With the help of Kobo Writing Life, the winner of this year’s TLC Pen Factor will be offered a year’s access to TLC literary and publishing events at Free Word Centre, and editorial and advisory support. Kobo Writing Life will also present the winner and two runners-up with Kobo e-readers, and a professional photo shoot session. Prize value £3,000+.

The winners, alongside twelve other shortlisted entrants, will benefit from advice given during a pitching and feedback session run on the bonus third day, June 15th, in an exciting expansion of the competition which will have something to offer all delegates. This year’s pitch session will be judged by a panel of agents and hosted by TLC Director Rebecca Swift. With Lorella BelliHeather Holden-BrownChris Wellbelove (Greene & Heaton), Hannah Sheppard (DHH Literary Agency) and Tom Witcomb (Blake Friedmann).


We are delighted to announce this year’s shortlist, with the top 3 winners to be announced at the Conference on Saturday 14th June, and the live pitch sessions to be held throughout the day on Sunday 15th.

Congratulations to our shortlisted writers, below, and many thanks to all who entered.

Safar Abdulrahman
Deborah Arnander
Kate Blair
Amna Boheim
Nizami Cummins
James Ferron Anderson
Guinevere Glasfurd-Brown
Ian Madden
Sylvia Moody
David Spon-Smith
Shereen Tadros
David Vass
Hilary Walker
Jessica Whittaker
Lucy Yates

‘The 2013 Literary Conference was a seminal moment for me. It was a rich programme, which I used to put together my marketing plan for my soon-to-be-announced novel, The Bitter Trade.  More importantly, it reminded me of the importance of getting the manuscript edited to the highest standard. I made lots of great connections and some new friends, and since the Conference I have had amazing access to TLC’s mentoring and training events.  It’s terrific that this year Kobo are sponsoring the TLC Pen Factor winners. This is a must-attend.”

Piers Alexander, Winner of TLC Pen Factor 2013